Captain Beyond

Captain Beyond is an American/British rock band formed in Los Angeles, California in 1971. The original line-up for Captain Beyond were singer Rod Evans (ex-Deep Purple), drummer Bobby Caldwell (ex-Johnny Winter), guitarist Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt (ex-Iron Butterfly), and bassist Lee Dorman (ex-Iron Butterfly), as well as keyboardist Lewie Gold.

Captain Beyond is the self-titled debut album by Captain Beyond, released in 1972, and featured former members of Iron Butterfly, Deep Purple, Johnny Winter, and Rick Derringer. The album cover for the U.S. release included 3-D artwork (using lenticular printing). The album was dedicated to the memory of Duane Allman, who Captain Beyond drummer Bobby Caldwell had played with in an informal capacity.

01. Dancing Madly Backwards
02. Armworth
03. Myopic Void
04. Mesmerization Eclipse
05. Raging River Of Fear
06. Thousand Days Of Yesterday (Intro)
07. Frozen Over
08. Thousand Days Of Yesterdays (Time Since Come And Gone)
09. I Cant Feel Nothin’ (Part 1)
10. As The Moon Speaks
11. Astral Lady
12. As The Moon Speaks (Return)
13. I Can’t Feel Nothin’ (Part 2)

Sufficiently Breathless, the second album by Captain Beyond, was released in 1973 and features a jazzier, smoother sound than its predecessor, reminiscent of mid-1970s Santana. The medley format of the first album is retained only for the last six minutes of Sufficiently Breathless: “Voyages of Past Travellers” flows directly into “Everything’s a Circle”, which in turn is actually two distinct songs despite being listed under a single title. Original drummer/songwriter Bobby Caldwell had been replaced by Marty Rodriguez in the band, and subsequently Lee Dorman was credited as writing the songs on the album for legal reasons, due to Rhino and Rod Evans being in litigation with Iron Butterfly and Deep Purple respectively.

01. Sufficiently Breathless
02. Bright Blue Tango
03. Drifting In Space
04. Evil Men
05. Starglow Energy
06. Distant Sun
07. Voyages Of Past Travellers
08. Everything’s A Circle

Dawn Explosion, the third and final album by Captain Beyond, was released in 1977. Original singer Rod Evans was replaced by Willy Daffern, and original drummer Bobby Caldwell had rejoined the band.

01. Do Or Die
02. Icarus
03. Sweet Dreams
04. Fantasy
05. Breath Of Fire (A) A Speck Within A Sphere
06. Breath Of Fire (B) Alone In The Cosmos
07. If You Please
08. Midnight Memories
09. Space Interlude
10. Oblivion
11. Space Reprise

Far Beyond a Distant Sun – Live in Arlington Texas 1973 is Captain Beyond’s only official live album to date. It was recorded in 1973 (but wasn’t officially released until 2002), after the release of Sufficiently Breathless, with the four original member reuniting for a brief tour before Rod Evans leaves. The album was recorded at the University of Texas at Arlington in support of King Crimson.

01. Intro / Distant Sun
02 .Drifting in Open Space
03 .Pandora’s Box/1000 Days of Yesterday
04 .Dancing Madly Backwards
05 .Mesmerization Eclipse
06 .Stone Free
•Rod Evans – lead vocals, tambourine
•Rhino – lead guitar, backing vocals
•Lee Dorman – bass guitar, backing vocals
•Bobby Caldwell – drums


2 pensieri riguardo “Captain Beyond

  • marzo 14, 2017 in 5:04 am

    Grazie di questa full immersion nella musica con la m maiuscola ed infiniti ringraziamenti per tutte le delizie che hai postato recentemente.

  • marzo 14, 2017 in 10:59 am

    Meravigliosi ed ancora moderni Captain Beyond. Gruppo trascurato ma di prim’ordine.


Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *